Shibboleths of Summer

Two solid months of free time will be over after this day ends. Personally, I never want it to end. But like all good things, this too will come to a conclusion. This summer has been a terrific one because the seemingly endless stretch of time allowed me to find what I haven’t been looking for. Serendipity. Thank God for that.

This post is part-tribute, part-summary of how I passed these two wonderful months.

1. House MD

This series is the epitome of my summer. Watching my favorite, albeit fictional, doctors live their lives in the frenzy of saving people. It is utterly crazy, and often, you will want to whack House in the head for being such a jerk, but I’ve never found a show that is as fascinating and as heartfelt as this. Tears have been shed, issues have been tackled. Until before dawn, I watched the characters develop and it gets me every time. Even the most unlikable character finds redemption, a saving grace. And that’s the thing: We all want redemption. We all want to make a difference in this world, so that when we leave it, the world will stir, perhaps even shake at the impact. Sure, it clearly changes one’s perception of right and wrong. That’s all right. Times call for us to look at old things with different eyes and see something new.

This series gives me hope and so much more, and I love it very much. Sadly, it has ended last May 21 (which is House Day in LA, how cool is that?). I’m not there yet for I’m only in season 6, but quite close. It makes me sad. Better buy Kleenex stock now, as Olivia Wilde has advised.

2. A Whole Lot of Reading

“You have read 15 books toward your goal of 50 books. At your current pace, you’re 5 books (11%) behind,” says Goodreads.

Books are never out of the equation. Reading a book is therapy for me.

Ashoke, Gogol’s father in The Namesake (2006), said:

That’s the thing about books. They let you travel without moving your feet.

If that’s the case, then I’ve been to so many places already. In America, in the Sea of Monsters, in Maycomb County, in Sweden. It’s beautiful. In the two months that have passed, I’ve read The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo up to Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Sea of Monsters. For sure, the incoming academic year will stunt my reading progress, but hopefully, I’ll be able to reach my goal of 50 books this year.

Most likely because my books were all over the place, Dad made a bookshelf for me. The older bookshelf is grateful for the lighter weight. Yet certainly, at the end of the year, both of them will be filled. Hopefully, not one of them gives up.

Time spent reading books is time well spent.

3. Some Writing

I’m neither the winner of the Most Active Blogger Award nor a candidate for it. I do try, nevertheless. I still love writing, no matter how uncreative I feel most of the time. (That is counterproductive, of course.)

So, what have I been up to?

Well, just a story. Yes, yes, I have started so many stories in the past. None of them have ever been finished. But this feels like it might actually reach a conclusion, like it might go somewhere. And I’m holding on to that. My goal is to reach novel-length, but I’m not so sure yet. I’m having difficulty drafting in scenes because of my patience issues: I want to write the crucial parts already. I think it’s alright. Every writer does it differently. And I don’t think the writing process is ever linear. You go back again and again, jump from here to there, fill in the blanks…

I hope I reach something this time.

Jonathan Safran Foer wrote in Everything is Illuminated:

We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing… We are writing…

Repeat as necessary.

4. Happy Happy Home

One morning in UP Diliman.
An afternoon at the museum.
Watching the sunset at Manila Bay.

I’m not really one to go out frequently. I prefer staying at home most of the time. I have been raised that way and believe me, I’ve tried changing it but to no avail. This summer, I’ve only went out to meet friends four times: twice with Kamilleonce with Kea, Lyndon, and Roi, and one time with my high school classmates, AOM.

Despite the lack of getaways with friends, my summerhas been quite eventful due to my family. We’ve been to lots of places, and with them, it’s always fun. I am blessed with a great bunch of people for family, and nothing can be better than that.

5. Marvel

This Marvel craze started with The Avengers (2012), which my family and I really enjoyed in the cinema. (I even got to watch it twice in the cinema because my uncle treated me out.) I’m not a big fan of superheroes or comic books but this movie is really fun to watch, so long story short, we all got hooked.

What happened next is watching each Avenger movie, and then some:

  • Thor (2011)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  • Iron Man 2 (2010)
  • The Incredible Hulk (2008)
  • Spider-Man (2002)
  • Spider-Man 2 (2004)
  • Spider-Man 3 (2007)
  • X-Men: The Last Stand (2006)

Notes (which are essentially just fan girl remarks so read at your own risk):

  1. Nobody does it like Robert Downey, Jr.
  2. Chris Evans is incredibly good-looking and so fitting for Steve Rogers that his character got into my Fictional Good Guys List.
  3. Tom Hiddleston is sexy, and adorable. Really. Let’s not bring up his accent or I’ll melt.
  4. I love the Hulk. He’s my favorite Avenger. Mark Ruffalo and Ed Norton both did an amazing portrayal of Bruce Banner/Hulk. Right now, I’m still figuring out who did it better.
  5. Tobey Maguire is like an American version of Daniel Radcliffe. I tweeted this, actually.
***

There. My two months in a thousand words. I haven’t posted much because I’m too lazy, and also because I’m usually watching House MD or playing on the iPad. Words have been brewing like storm clouds in my head, but it’s not yet time to wring them out.

Only 11 days before school starts. I must make the most of these handful of days, then I’m off to the gates of Hades. I mean, UP Manila. 😀

Leave a Reply

