Potpourri: Sembreak, 2012

It really is a joy to have my days filled. Not  the schoolwork-filled kind—the fun-with-the-family kind. The onslaught of the first semester left me exhausted to the marrow, and the stress was beginning to weigh down on me, physically, mentally, emotionally. The first semester of my Dentistry proper hurt in both literal and figurative senses. I may have shed a tear or two (READ: weep) a couple of times during it. But there’s no point crying over spilled milk. The point is that it’s over and I’m free from school (in the meantime, anyway) and I’m just so happy I have a great family!

Here’s a recap of my break, so far:

  • Have slept, a lot.
  • Have finished Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Novels and Stories, Vol. 1 by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.
  • Have read The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien! I’m ready for the film (which will star Martin Freeman, who portrays Dr. John Watson in BBC’s adaptation of Sherlock) and the LOTR trilogy! Can’t stress this enough.
  • Have progressed (a little) on preparations for 18th, although I still cringe at the thought of finally being “of age” and whatnot.
  • Have fixed the mess in my room a little early on, such that it has returned to its normal state already, i.e. cluttered.
  • Have started on Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason by Helen Fielding and it. completely. rocks. In fact, I think I may have taken on Bridget’s style of writing in her diary. Number of times I thought I am indeed a Bridget, 258 (v.g.)
  • Have been to my birthplace and back. Truly, there is no place like home.
  • Have met my farther relatives in our first ever grand family reunion back in Bicol.
  • Have been to the cemetery and bantered with my cousins, just like old times.
  • Have resurrected my enthusiasm for photography as I am inspired by artistic people I found in the wonderful web, namely: Carina Santos and Kristine. I even reconciled with Flickr by reviving my nearly-dead account: The Bell Jar Catches Fire. Still a long way to go.
  • Have been reading poetry.
  • Have created a wishlist because an Anon asked for it on Tumblr. Forgot to include Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Novels and Stories, Vol. 2 and the Lord of the Rings trilogy. Oh well.
  • Have reduced my 50-book goal to a 30 due to time constraints. So far, I’ve read 22 books for the year. Next year, really, it’s going to be a 50.
  • Have grown to love Benedict Cumberbatch very much.
  • Have thought a lot.

I’ve had my days filled to the brim, like tea spilling to burnish ancient teapots. It is a relief to be away from myself sometimes by immersing myself in people. However, this proves to be a difficult task. It is exhausting to have to think about my affairs all the time. As if being self-absorbed would enlighten me; on the contrary, it would only blind me perhaps even further from what needs to be seen. It’s about time I let go of my pride and admit that I have made mistakes. Because I have. But, I realized, there are things in this world that are bigger than all the wrong things combined. My family, my friends.

I am grateful for having a family that is a constant fountain of love and care. I would never manage without them, who never stop believing in me. No matter how hard I fall, they are always there to help me up. And then they let me go because they trust me.

Lord, your grace is enough. I have passed my subjects and have an amazing family and have books and I am alive. Thank You, from the depths of my heart.

And that caps this short update.

Leave a Reply

