You Know Who I Am (Thoughts on Iron Man 3)

SPOILERS AHEAD. If you are planning to watch this, don’t read. Just don’t.

I have a love-hate relationship with mainstream movies because they usually have a formula. And because of this formula, the movies become predictable. But I have to give it to Marvel this time for Iron Man 3. It was completely different from the previous two movies.

In the previous two, Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) built Iron Man around the armor suit. However, in this movie, he showed that Iron Man was more than just the suit; Iron Man was Tony Stark himself. The armor suit was just a creation of his, proof of his ingenious ability to make things. This was written well in the Storyline of the movie in IMDb:

…does the man make the suit or does the suit make the man?

What I liked most about this movie is that it completely broke free from the boundaries the first two movies had set. Here was Iron Man without his suit, doing his best to save the country and the person he loved. I loved it that he was out of the suit during most of the fight scenes. It’s elemental to the story.

This movie was also different in that there was less banter; it was more serious. Not that I’m saying the previous two weren’t serious. But in this movie we see a Tony Stark who is conscious of the things around him. In the previous movies, he was more confident, blunt in his ways and sort of a jerk. Here he showed what was underneath that cool, billionaire-playboy-philanthropist exterior.  Although I still did laugh a lot (re “limited edition”, the Mandarin decoy, the football game, Downton Abbey, the number one fan, and more).

I loved it that Pepper Potts (Gwyneth Paltrow) kicked ass in this movie. I’ve always thought she was just someone to protect, but here she was, proving she can also protect the person she loved. Also, Gwyneth Paltrow is phenomenal and my girl crush # 1. This explains why I chose that movie poster above which I first saw in the mall, aside from the fact that it is such a chilling movie poster.

And Rebecca Hall, my girl crush # 2. I first saw her in Parade’s End (where she and Benedict broke my heart) and then I watched her in Starter for 10 and I just love her. There’s just something about her: the eyebrows, the facial expressions, the ability to shed her English accent (seriously, it’s amazing). I could go on and on. And so you could just imagine why I nearly fell off my seat when I realized she was in the movie, with Gwyneth Paltrow.

Of course, Robert Downey Jr. of whom both my mother and I were both sighing wistfully at during and after the movie. He brought Tony Stark’s character into such great life. The witty remarks, the dark humor, and most of all, the vulnerability. Nobody does it like RDJ, I’m telling you.

Plot-wise, it was great. Tony Stark said: “We make our own demons.” It was brilliant of Aldrich Killian (Guy Pearce) to actually think of the Mandarin decoy. He said something like you shouldn’t let the public see who you really are, because the moment they do, they have a target. And of course, the Extremis idea which, I should have realized the first time a guy blew up, was connected to Maya Hansen’s (Rebecca Hall) research on the plant that exploded.

I’m not really a critiqc but I really wanted to write my appreciation of this movie. This franchise has ended (I think, because he had the electromagnet removed from his heart and clips from the previous two showed in the credits, I CRY) wonderfully. So thank you to the cast, the production team, the writers, the directors, Marvel Studios, and everyone else who has made this franchise possible. It has been such a pleasure to watch.

Leave a Reply

